Baltimore and Silver Spring

Last weekend, I went to Baltimore for an interview and also had the amazing luck of hanging out with a friend from college, B. She recently got married and it was so nice to see her new home. Check out these awesome ice cream cups. Thin mint and peanut butter crunch.

District 3-20130419-03374

In the afternoon, B drove me around the neighborhood for almost an hour, taking in the variety of neighborhoods and types of possible housing. Condiminums, apartments, houses in the suburbs, more city like area in Townsend and also near John Hopkins. It was swell.

District 3-20130420-03376

Then, on the drive back from Baltimore, I stopped by Silver Springs, a country in the DC/Metro area where my friend Katy is from. She just moved back from Paris, and has been devoting some of her time to cake classes cause she is going to make the wedding cake for her friend, which I find mind boggling. I’ve always known she likes to bake, but this is going to a whole new level that I didn’t know was possible. From amateur baker to professional wedding cake making? Well, here’s some of her work. Yep, I got to try both. And I swear it was one of the best cakes I’ve tasted.

District 13-20130420-03377

Buttercream cake with mango filling

District 13-20130420-03378

Beet chocolate cake (I think I fell in love)

District 13-20130420-03379

I woulda hired her on the spot if she wasn’t already making cakes for another bride

District 13-20130420-03380

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Inock Kim says:

    Mango butter cream cake would be cute for your wedding cake.

  2. yena says:

    oh..my…..gosh….

  3. jsk says:

    i agree with both momma and yena here

    ALSO, what a nice friend you have!

  4. Omg, Katy turned into a chef :).

Leave a Reply

