End of the year

Durham-20130413-03369Durham-20130413-03366Durham-20130413-03367Durham-20130413-03368

I officially submitted my final final thesis! I am still waiting to hear for the final verdict on formatting but I’d say there’s a good chance there shall be no more editing on that sucker. So, a week ago, knowing that my revisions were minimal, we had a little post-thesis celebration for everyone who had finished their thesis, and had friends from both unc, duke and durham.

It was so much fun getting ready for it. V and I ended up totally rearranging the living room, put up lights, and the first picture is my favorite russian comedy brilliyantovaya ruka playing on silent. We toasted with depreville champagne, which I recommend! Lena made a simple but delicious cocktail for us- russki standart vodka, sprite, green tea lemonade. Danielle made the most amazing vegetarian bean dip, which I’ll post about later. I’m gonna miss you, Durham!

I have to admit I teared up during our toast. Looking around at all the friendships I had forged, I startlingly wondered why I was in such a hurry to finish school, to move away, finish durham. As everyone exchanged their future plans stories, I saw more clearly how much all of us had grown these past couple years, how much knowledge we’ve gained and gotten to know ourselves better. The last two years weighed heavier on me that night than it ever did before, and still leaves an impression on me.

IMG955505

IMG950226

IMG951105

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Inock Kim says:

    It tears me up, too. Congratulations Eunice and Val.
    I am so delighted with your story.
    May God bless and lead your future.

  2. Anonymous says:

    ahh!!!! congratulations!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

