rainbows & butterflies and lots of compromise

I’ve been sick, no clue why. But I made some rice porridge like my mom used to make me when I was sick, and it was one of the best meals I’ve ever cooked, unquote Val.  So there is some good in everything. Sadly I did not have a chance to photograph the little carrot and green onion bits which was quite picturesque.But it looked actually a lot like this:

(pic source: google images)

Anyway, I’m feeling much better, but I’ve been avoiding acidic foods and anything that may make you feel sick like dairy so out goes my daily fruit smoothies, hagen daz ice cream waiting in the fridge, lemons, tomatoes, broccoli, cheese, highly processed foods and instead of coffee, tea and water. I know, can you believe it? I decided to take a break from coffee!! Although I dearly love the morning ritual of having the perfect cup of french pressed coffee waiting for me when I wake up, I realize it could be the cause among many other things that have made me feel queesy. I’m not blaming it all on coffee, of course, but its gotta be part of it the cause. I only drink black coffee, AND I’ve been mega stressed, irregular sleep and not exercising, not even an ounce, it may be a good time to cleanse my diet a bit.

(pic source: Madisonplus.com)

And the much missed sunlight that welcomed me in the morning made it the perfect day to start doing so. I’m gonna get back into doing my favorite morning yoga routine, it makes me feel like I’m right in the middle of NYC (which I’m assuming where this is). You should try it out. It’s pretty a-maz-ing how different you feel after!

Morning Yoga in the City

After the yoga sesh, back to work!

IMG-20130227-03230

(My view from Vonder hey den cafe @Duke)

5 Comments Add yours

  1. jsk says:

    good job doing such a good job taking care of yourself, chicky: key!
    also you can always be doing yoga ACTUALLY in NYC (not subtle, but COME!)

  2. Christine says:

    Yea good job and I hope your body gets back on track soon!

  3. lepaindemie says:

    YES I can relate to how hard it is easing up on the coffee. My body has been telling me to do the same thing recently!

  4. Inock Kim says:

    rice porridge looks great!
    That is what I learned from my mother.
    Many legacies…

Leave a Reply

