Memory

I recently changed the options on my desktop preferences to change my desktop picture every thirty minutes, so it just goes through all the pictures I have on my hard drive. Recently it’s streaming the pictures from when I was in Russia, and it constantly catches me off guard. I’ve never looked at each picture, enlarged and permanent, like a picture in a frame, and when I am forced to stop and really look, they are each so beautiful. Maybe it’s also because time has passed. Looking back on my life there now makes me be able to distinguish the person I was before from the one I am today. Whenever I look and suddenly there is a picture of a hillside overlooking a large green field in some outskirt of Moscow, I go, wow, I was there, I remember that moment I took that picture and then whoosh, I’m taking that time machine to see that other Me. In a millisecond, I am racing past the enormous archives of my memories, from one place to a million others. There are pictures of my friends, parties, the Red Square which was intentional but there also pictures that I took by instinct, my brain saw, liked, and told my hands to record it, but I forgot about it as soon as I pressed shoot. I’m thankful that I still have records of the small things, like shoes, pavement, a close up of an iron gate.

I just wanted to share some of these with you.  IMG_9573

 

IMG_9778

 

IMG_9734

 

IMG_9705

 

IMG_9703

 

IMG_9666

 


 

IMG_9570

 

IMG_9517

 

IMG_9499

2 Comments Add yours

  1. jsk says:

    my favorite is the little tile tucked in a hole
    followed by the little old lady as close second

    share more when you feel so inclined!

    1. aventuramare says:

      yeah i love those! and i will definitely:)

Leave a Reply

